Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Making your own utility leather

naturalist primitive your_comforting_company's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Default Making your own utility leather

There's a lot of interest in making leather and making products for sheaths, and holsters.. lots of things. But where does that leather come from?
    Likely, you got it from a store, who got it from some industrial tannery, that uses chemicals and produces massive amounts of waste and pollution. It is likely stiff, or greasy, or rubbery and not very "natural" feeling.
    How would you like to make your own leather from things you probably already have around the house? You can do it with natural materials that will return to the earth naturally. This is somewhat of a lost art in today's "I wan't it now" society.
    I am no history expert, but I think it's safe to say that skin is probably the first thing our most ancient ancestors ever wore for coverings. Very likely they found some carcass and discovered the warmth provided by the fur of the critter. The earliest skins were very likely un-tanned, sloppy, stinky, stiff, hideous creatures to behold. Most of what we know about tanning was (like most other things) discovered by accident. With a whole lot of trial and error (and more the latter) the art was perfected to a science.
    This post is intended to be a primer on skin so that you understand what we will be accomplishing with bark tanning. I will touch on the bark for now but will hopefully as the post progresses and other tanners contribute, have more information.

There are also different types of tanning that produce different types of leathers. Buckskin is a soft wearable leather that is washable, comfortable, stretchy, and durable. It is soft and supple.. not something you want to carry a sharp object in.