Thread: Candle wick replacement

Default Candle wick replacement

I was wondering what you could use besides store bought candle wicks. I'm thinking you should be able to use any natural fiber such as Jute or even Hemp. But I wanted to pick your minds before spending the time and materials on something that will fail.

I'm new to candle making and I'm trying to lessen the learning curve.
    Surviving the Fellini Kroger since 1993

I use a wick made of a sliver of shelf fungus in oil lamps like this, It would probably work with wax also.

Cant get the pics to come up?

I use Jute twine as a wick. Cotton string works well too. Real candle wicks are much stiffer and some have silver in them for some reason I don't understand...
    "Evil triumphs when good men do nothing." - Edmund Burke [1729-1797]

Default Wood Wick Candles

I haven't tried this to make these at home however, I have used candles that use wood as the wick. It works the wood only burns as it is exposed as the wax level lowers. The wick is about 1/2" wide by 1/16" thick and looks like pine. Some oaks might work as well because of the straw like grain pattern. The wood crackles and sputters as it burns.

Ya, I know it is country craft special, but if you mix up some wax and bacon fat for fragrance, pour it into an old tuna can and you have a down right respectable survival candle.

Guests can not see images in the messages. Please register in the forum.
    Last edited by gryffynklm; 04-17-2009 at 06:48 PM. Reason: correction
    Karl

The quality of a person's life is in direct proportion the the effort he puts into whatever field of endeavor he chooses. Vincent T Lombardi

A wise man profits from the wisdom of others.

I just remembered making a camp stove candle burner thing in Boy Scouts. It was made using corrugated cardboard as a wick, the flutes ran vertically. Perhaps some cardboard might work in experiment.