Thread: Queen Annes Lace (Wild Carrot)

Default Queen Annes Lace (Wild Carrot)

Learned a lesson about this plant this summer. I knew it was a wild carrot but when I tryed the root it was always too woody and only mildly tasted like a carrot. This plant is a (biennial spelling) meaning lives for two years then dies. I was harvesting the second year root. Yesterday I ID a first year plant and the root was much more tender and pleasant tasting. What are your experiences with this plant?

well now me and this carrot family did alot of dancing this summer, i am not an expert on this family. i am hopeing for thomas j eppels botany in a day for christmas, if not i 'm getting it for myself, as you say first year roots taste look smell different than second year plants i learned allot about burdock this year and only touched on the wild carrot family, curious how did you do a positive id?, second year is usually easier than first year but i think i recall you saying you took a course? where abouts?
    always be prepared-prepare all ways
    http://wareaglesurvival.blogspot.com

To answer your questions wareagle. I went to the BOWS (Big Oak Wilderness School) in Nolensville, TN. IT was there that I learned that there was a difference between the first and second year plant. This was one of the plants that our instructor had us go out and draw (sketch). You usually can find them around the base of the dead stalks and flowers this time of year. They have a basal leaf arrangement. The carrots are white and not orange. They are all over the place here. I don't know about Ontario. By the way, I have also dug up some first year burdock this year (They are biennials too). They have one very long tap root. I use post hole diggers to dig beside of them so that I can get alot more of the root.