Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Forging a knife

Default Forging a knife

Over the summer I got an apprenticeship with a blacksmith. He made 300 of the swords for the movie Braveheart. Right now I'm making a bowie knife, it's my first time making a knife. Saddly I don't own a digital camera, but it's 12 1/2 inches long from high carbon spring steel (1095) It's got a ball-peen finish and a slightly curved handle. It's hollow ground, and has a sharpened false point (Will have it's not there yet) If any of you guys have made knives by forging of grinding or whatever I'd love to hear about it.
    "When we get people who are more concerned about reading the rights to an Al Qaeda terrorist than they are with protecting the United States against people who are absolutely committed to do anything they can to kill Americans, then I worry"-Dick Cheney

Banned
    Blog Entries

BG, I am impressed. Good for you. Any chance you can work with him next summer.....?

What material will you put on the handel....? Does he do leather work...?

Southern WV , raised in Eastern KY up a holler

What's this maker's name? I would like to see some examples of your and his work. I have been interested in giving it a try myself and maybe pick up a few pointers.
    Don't pick a fight with an old man. If he's too old
    to fight... he'll just kill you.

Senior Member erunkiswldrnssurvival's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Ive done a little green sand molding with brass and copper
    God lives in the Mountain, Serve the Master, The Mountain also serves the Master. Serve the Mountain,
    The Mountain Breaks you.
    http://www.youtube.com/trapperjacksurvival
    http://s567.photobucket.com/albums/ss113/erunkis

Blog Entries

this is a copper rose that i forged...Guests can not see images in the messages. Please register in the forum.
    God lives in the Mountain, Serve the Master, The Mountain also serves the Master. Serve the Mountain,
    The Mountain Breaks you.