Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best tinder for ferrocerium

Default Best tinder for ferrocerium

I just got my first ferrocerium rod (stop snickering back there). My son (who is in Boy Scouts) told me the best tinder is dry paper towel. After trying several tinders, he's right. My first ever strike on the rod I used paper towel, and it started right up, no problem. Paper towel is a cheap, fast solution to tinder, if you can keep it dry.

I also tried dryer lint, char cloth, magnesium. The magnesium shavings wouldn't light after 8 sparks, perhaps they needed to be in powder form.

I also found that a 1.5x2.5 inch square of char cloth did not start the fire because it burned too fast. But I'm not an expert yet with the ferro rod. Larger squares would be helpful.

Just a note for ya.

Have your fire ready to start. I make a small teepee of very small twigs leaving one side partially open. These twigs are about the size of a pencil lead. I add slightly smaller twigs to the outside of the teepee. If dry, the small twigs will catch easily. I layer on progressively larger wood until I have sticks about the size of my index finger. I have a lot of small twigs laying beside the fire ready to feed and progressively larger wood laying beside the fire also ready to add if the fire takes off.

The dryer lint will catch the spark and start burning. You just need to place it inside the open teepee and drop a spark on it. Then you can feed the smaller twigs into the fire until it catches well.