Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Foraging and pollution; how do?

Question Foraging and pollution; how do?

Howdy, I am new to foraging and survival techniques in general.

Something which bemuses me is how peeps appear to consume plants from their backyard with abandon... There is just so much pollution now everywhere. I have often posited that we are in a "chemical inebriation" and drunk with all of them... in our water, soil, air, etc. The most obvious solution for terrestrial food is either growing your own, or buying local & organic. The most obvious solution for marine food is buying wild-caught smaller fishies so the heavy metals, PCB's, and other unidentifiable chemicals cannot bioaccumulate into something acutely noxious. And for water quality you can always distill your own water; which i have begun doing. Now where it gets super confusing for me is with foraging. Because unless you live in a rural area then you will always have to deal with possibility of some weird **** going on. My local parks for example [2] are both zoned adjacent to industrial centers, how generous of the township. In my backyard the neighbor dumped a metric ****-ton of chlorinated pool water onto our property last Spring, and my father has some affinity for Roundup and killing absolutely everything the natural world spawns. I am thinking about another park that is a bit more isolated but then I am thinking what kind of weird bs is going on there too... I mean, foraging is an important skill to have regardless of whether it has immediate applications to my daily life; but it would be nice to have some confidence on this front. I was thinking about hunting small game too [like rabbits] and the prospect of those animals drinking from our contaminated creeks and eating from our contaminated soil makes the proposition seem less alluring. Of course the idea of survival is to just survive, I understand that, but if I can survive and also not poison myself that would be tight.