Thread: Conveting my AR-15 to match grade

Tool & Die Maker

Default Converting my AR-15 to match grade

When I started shooting AR-15's just 3 years ago my main interest was wild hog hunting. Became interested in precision shooting when I mounted scopes on my AR's. A few weeks ago I met a former coworker (also a Jim) at the gun range. He was actually the CFO at the company we both retired from. He invited me to test fire his new Rugar precision rifle. I think it was a 6.5. The rifle was all decked out, upgraded stock, $300 bi-pod, and 24X scope. He had 6 rounds in the rifle. At 100 yards I could see the bulls eye was a 1/2" square plain as day. All six rounds hit inside the square a couple almost perfectly. I don't know who was more excited him or me over my shooting.

His precision Rugar cost around $1200.00 although I found one on line for around $800, last years model. Thinking about
    buying a 24" or 26"match grade barrel for my AR-15, 223. Don't expect it to shoot like the Rugar Precision but how much improvement can I expect with a longer barrel. Thinking about setting up a complete upper receiver with the match barrel.

opinions??????
    Last edited by jim Glass; 10-24-2018 at 11:19 AM.

KY bluegrass region-the center of the universe

The truth is that you are not going to see the most improvement by switching barrels.

Match rifle shooting is a money game. People throwing a lot of money at problems that do not exist or make so little difference that the improvement is imperceptible.

Your greatest improvement will be in the change to a target trigger and a good scope. That was the improvement you were seeing with the RPR, as well as better ammo shot from a bolt action platform.