Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Novice in MI

Default Novice in MI

Hello,

I am a young mother in my mid-20s from southeast Michigan. I have worked in kitchens and food services mostly. My most recent job was in a bakery kitchen. However, for the past few months I've been staying home with my 3.5 year old. So I do not really have much relevant training or a related job. I'm pretty much a novice in everything but very interested. I supposed I could be considered an intermediate forager I know how to identify a handful of plants but I don't actually harvest much as I'm still learning and haven't had a chance for many classes or anyone or place to ask questions.
    We do not have much of a preparedness plan and I want to learn various things to create one. My bf has a bag with many tools to help in the event of a disaster or emergancy, we have fire starter, water filters, some knives, and a lot of other things.
    I am interested in many many things relevant here. I'm interested in learning more about wilderness survival skills, primitive skills, foraging. I've been camping many times over my life and love time outdoors in nature but only have been modern tent camping. I'm interested in more wilderness, backcountry camping, hiking, backpacking, etc. I love the water; swimming, canoeing, etc. My daughter loves the beach and we try to spend lots of time outside. I'm very interested in homesteading, gardening, permaculture. We have new property and have a small garden already and I'm learning more to grow it more naturally. I'd like to learn to can, dry, and store foods we grow. I like the idea of rewilding as much as possible, returning to a more natural way of life.