Thread: Hello fellas! I'm Dave

Default Hello fellas! I'm Dave

Hi guys

I'm Dave from California and I'm into bushcraft, survival, hiking, and the outdoors. I love this forum and the online community, I've learned soooooo much. Pretty much everything I know about this stuff is from the online community. I take what I learn and then go practice as much as I can.

Sadly, because of constraints on time I do a lot of practice in the backyard but I try to do infield practice as much as I can.

I like sharing my experiences with gear and bushcraft, I'm no expert of any kind, just sharing some data with the community.

Well that's pretty much it. Everyone here is super friendly and I wanted to formally introduce myself.

Hey welcome Dave, Dont stress I some times do things in my back yard also, I can't always get out (as crazy as it might seem seeing I live in South Africa)
    My youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/ultsmackdown Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/antonyraison/

(BOSWA) ELITE SURVIVAL RANGER - BSR/16/05

Welcome home.

Hi fellas, thanks for the warm welcome! I look forward to learning from everyone!

Welcome to the forum Dave. Glad you found us. I hope you really do take the time to read up on the topics you are interested in. The search feature is a great/very useful tool. I agree with everyone else about using your backyard. I learned how to build a fire in my back yard, I learned how to use an axe in my back yard. I have learned how to set up every new tent/tipi/fly I have ever owned in either my front yard or my back yard. I have practiced cooking a lot of meals over a fire or a back packing stove in my back yard. I have learned and have come to really appreciate the value of learning how to use my gear and kit someplace other than walking down the trail or in the dark on the side of a hill! But man does it make for some funny/good stories later.

Quote Originally Posted by DSJohnson View Post