Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Synthetic Oil

KY bluegrass region-the center of the universe

Default Synthetic Oil

Call me behind the times but I am having my first experience with synthetic oil, specifically Mobile 1 synthetic.

Mobile says I can go 15,000 miles, or one year, between changes.

Is it really that good?
    If you didn't bring jerky what did I just eat?

Alaska, The Madness! 1stimestar's Avatar
    Little cabin in the woods, middle of Alaska.

It's the only oil most of us will use up here due to it handling the cold better.
    Why do I live in Alaska? Because I can.

Alaska, the Madness! Bloggity Stories of the North Country

"Building Codes, Alaskans don't need no stinking Building Codes." Sourdough

Yes, I have wifi in my outhouse!

I have been using a 10,000 mile synthetic in my vehicles for several years now. The Toyota and Ford manufacturer warranties and service schedules cover it so it must good stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by kyratshooter View Post
    Call me behind the times but I am having my first experience with synthetic oil, specifically Mobile 1 synthetic.

Mobile says I can go 15,000 miles, or one year, between changes.

Is it really that good?
    I wouldn't go that long between changes unless I had a really good filter. I've spent 40 years in auto service and I've seen a lot of damage even with synthetic oil from service intervals covering that many miles. Oil and filters are still much cheaper than engines ! But of course you could look into putting a bypass filter on that filters down to one micron. A human hair is about 40 microns for reference.
    Lamewolf
    Manu Forti
    Roadkill, its whats for supper !
    www.angelfire.com/electronic2/qrp

Large bipedal Primate Billofthenorth's Avatar