Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Plans for an Off-grid paradise in South America, plenty of land, people needed.

Lightbulb Plans for an Off-grid paradise in South America, plenty of land, people needed.

I’ve been exploring the Patagonia region for three years now. Kayaking, hiking, you name it.

There’s plenty of uncharted and unsupervised land out there, that's no news. The problem with all of them is the same. Settling in protected areas is illegal. Not in the going-to-prison sense, but in the kick-you-out one. And in Argentina, it is very worth it to play with those odds. So you make your list of favourite spots based on this, and that's why I did. Sites close enough to civilization that bringing stuff in and out doesn't set off any alarms, and far enough that you won't ruin your cover by the smoke coming from your fireplace or the sound of your rooster.

Here’s the secret: The reason so many sites are uncharted and thus unprotected, is reaching them is almost imposible. Patagonia forests are convered by this invasive species called Chusquea culeou, making it harder to make three steps without finding yourself trapped between walls of bamboos.

Being a third world country, rangers aren’t paid enough, nor there isn’t enough of them to cover the huge protected area Argentina has, even less to make their way through this crowded vegetation that grows down south.

There’s practically unlimited land to be gained over there. But in order to transform it, plenty of effort needs to be put into it. Getting rid of that bamboo and fallen trees requires massive ammount of work, I can’t overstate this enough!

This is part of the reason I’m here. Given how amazing I think this experience will be, I would love to share it with like minded people. I’m here to offer myself for guidance and as a partner in crime to create our own personal little paradise.