Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wilderness areas without bears ?

Default Wilderness areas without bears ?

Hello, I'm a newbie to this site and to backpacking.

I would like to go on my first solo backpacking trip soon, and spend about a week or longer out there. I would like to go some place with no bears, so that I just don't have to worry about them at all (peace of mind, you know ?).

I'm not looking to set up camp in an established backcountry camp, but want total solitude. In other words, I would like to camp out in the middle of nowhere, undisturbed. This is going to be sort of a spiritual journey for me, so it is very important that I am undisturbed (by people).

I realize that deserts have no bears (duh), but of course, I'd prefer an area with vegetation (i.e. a regular forest).

I live in Santa Barbara, California, and the only bear-free wilderness areas I see nearby are Montana De Oro State Park and Point Reyes National Seashore, but that is probably because they are too small to support a bear population.

I'd appreciate any suggestions. What is a reliable source of information on bear populations ? I've tried looking online but couldn't find what I was looking for.

Thanks !

Hunter63 saying Hey and Welcome.
    There is an intro section at:
    http://www.wilderness-survival.net/f...-Introductions

Don't live in California, so can't really advise you on where they are....
    Here is a series or maps show number by state.
    http://www.covebear.com/BlackBearFactsAndResearch.htm

Now Wisconsin is supposed to have 30000 of them, but hunting the state for 50 plus years, have never seen one in the woods.
    Smelled a few...like garbage and old sweat socks BO.
    One must take care to stash your food in a bear proof container away for your camp site.
    Geezer Squad....Charter Member #1
    Evoking the 50 year old rule...
    First 50 years...worried about the small stuff...second 50 years....Not so much
    Member Wahoo Killer knives club....#27