Thread: new to gardenig

Default new to gardenig

I am brand new to gardening and want to start plainting SOMETHING this summer (probably in a planter for starters). What could I start with for planting food?

Alaska, The Madness! 1stimestar's Avatar
    Little cabin in the woods, middle of Alaska.

I would start with tomatoes and either green beans or peas. Then again, onions and lettuce are super easy too.
    Why do I live in Alaska? Because I can.

Alaska, the Madness! Bloggity Stories of the North Country

"Building Codes, Alaskans don't need no stinking Building Codes." Sourdough

Yes, I have wifi in my outhouse!

First, it would help to know where you are. Every area has a climate zone and you need to know what zone you are in. Otherwise, your efforts will be wasted on plants that take either too long to fruit or plants that won't grow well in too much heat.

southwest ohio

That will put you in zone 6; either a or b depending on exactly where you live. Plants are often bred for specific zones.

http://planthardiness.ars.usda.gov/PHZMWeb/

Next, you need to know what amendments, if any, your soil needs. You can take a sample of your soil to your county extension service and they will analyze it for you. The testing is usually done through Ohio State Univ. Here's a map for your county's extension service. Just scroll down and enter your zip code. You can pick up a soil kit at the office.

http://extension.osu.edu/lao

You'll need ground that is well drained. You want to hold moisture, not water. You also want a garden away from trees. Trees are as large underground as they are above ground so any roots below your garden will pull both nutrients and water away from your garden plants.