Thread: knives from files

Default knives from files

I am a novice but have started making some knives from files. I annealed them in a campfire overnight but they came out slightly warped. I don't have a forge or anvil. Is there any way to flatten the blades?
    Thanks!

KY bluegrass region-the center of the universe

If they are properly annealed they should be soft enough to bend to a straight position without specialized equipment.

But be advised that when you heat treat the blades to restore the edge holding ability they may warp again.

You will have to stress relieve them before getting them straight for a second time.

If you do not have an anvil a piece of flat metal on a concrete slab will often work if the blade is not large. I gave my anvil to my son and use a piece of railroad track for small jobs.
    If you didn't bring jerky what did I just eat?

Thanks I tried to pound them out but not too hard. I'll try it. Would it be better to heat them up with a propane torch?

a block of wood and a regular hammer will be more than enough to hammer soft metal flat, just be careful not to hit any area you aren't going to remove. You can also get 2 blocks of wood, put the metal between them, and hit the top block hard. This way, you won't risk damaging a soft area of the file that you want to preserve. The two wood block method is something we do when we have to bend aluminum for certain things at work.

A regular propane torch without any additional oxygen will not heat the metal to the plastic state you desire.

As JPG stated, with soft metal it should not be a problem. I often used a wooden mallet for the final straightening of blades after the went through heat treat and stress relief to prevent marking the blade.

Some blades will take a set and return to it. I have straightened blades and come back two days latter to find a distinct curve that was not there before.