Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Seeking advice from actual survivalists!

Question Seeking advice from actual survivalists!

Mmkay, this is my first post in a forum like this, and I am a COMPLETE novice at survival. It also covers two separate, unrelated topics, so I put it out here rather than in one of the sub-folders because I knew at least half the post would be guaranteed off-topic, apologies if this wasn't the right way to go about it. I am running a D&D-esque RPG (Different game system, but if you've ever even heard of D&D then you understand the principle at least), and one of the characters is a bit of a survivalist, and had a couple of questions that I thought you all could maybe shed a little light on. I know there really is no definitive answer for these things, because they all rely on a myriad of potentially-unknowable factors, but for the sake of a pen-and-paper RPG, even a vague, not-always-accurate ballpark figure will probably do just fine:

1. Firewood/camp fires: How much firewood, in terms of pounds, seems reasonable to keep a fire burning all night, if you set it up correctly? And (obviously, depending on the different styles of fire you could set up) about how big of an area might that be expected to heat? I'm talking about a fire which the character could set up before dark, maybe add wood and stoke all evening until he went to bed, and then leave burning all night to keep wild beasts at bay, and also stand a reasonable chance of not freezing to death until morning. If there's more than one valid answer (like for different climates), that's fine, more detail doesn't really hurt! This is assuming that all the characters in the group are able to acquire or construct adequate shelter for the terrain in question (whether that be a tent, a bivouack(sp?), an igloo or even just hiding under a rocky overhang to escape the rain.)