Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Stone knife

Default Stone knife

Hello people, I want to make a stone knife. I have never tried before. I read the how to, but still have a bunch of questions. What kind of stones work the best or what ones should be avoided? I live in WI so that will determine what my materials will be. Otherwise I could order a "blank" somewhere if someone knows where to get something like that. I'm open to any advice, pointers, or comments. Thank you.
    An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.

Do you know how to knap flint? If not, I suggest that you either get someone to teach you before you even get to the making of the knife or read and teach yourself.

Al
    Last edited by GI Jeaux; 10-15-2013 at 11:51 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by GI Jeaux View Post
    Do you know how to knap flint? If not, I suggest that you either get someone to teach you before you even get to the making of the knife.

Al
    Good advice, ...and you need a pretty good sized piece if chert/flint/quartz for making a blade.

There is a type of rock from Hixton, WI that is famous for workability, called Hixton sugar quartz....and has been found all over the country.....traded by the Native Americans.

http://www.lithiccastinglab.com/gall...mberhixton.htm
    Geezer Squad....Charter Member #1
    Evoking the 50 year old rule...
    First 50 years...worried about the small stuff...second 50 years....Not so much
    Member Wahoo Killer knives club....#27

Quote Originally Posted by Jessthebuilder View Post
    Hello people, I want to make a stone knife. I have never tried before. I read the how to, but still have a bunch of questions. What kind of stones work the best or what ones should be avoided? I live in WI so that will determine what my materials will be. Otherwise I could order a "blank" somewhere if someone knows where to get something like that. I'm open to any advice, pointers, or comments. Thank you.