Thread: Whats the skinny on "fire pistons"?

Default Whats the skinny on "fire pistons"?

I was enjoying my current issue of "The Backwoodsman" and I came across an article featuring the fire piston. I have seen these advertised in other magazines but this is the first time I had actually ever heard of someone using one. I always looked upon them as some kind of gimmick. After checking them out online I discovered they are kind of expensive, $50 for a basic unit. My question is this...are they worth it? I admit its pretty cool but would it hold up under actual survival conditions? I have been using my ferro rods without any problem for about 15 years, so I hesitate to try something new. Has anyone actually tried one? How well did it work in wet/rainy conditions? The video I watched made it look super easy, is it really so? The point in the article I read was that fire pistons ignite a coal rather than a flame. A coal, they argued, is much more difficult to extinguish than a flame is and thus is more reliable. I have started many a fire with traditional flint and steel and char cloth so I am familiar with using a coal to nurture a flame. I dont think my ferro rods will ever be replaced, but I like to have as many different ways to start a fire as possible.
    There ain't too many problems you can't fix with $500 or a 30-06.

Him-"Whats the best knife for survival?"
    Me-"the one that's in your pocket."
    Him-"I don't have one in my pocket."
    Me-"Exactly."

Tracks Across the High Plains...Death on the Bombay Line...A Touch of Death and Mayhem...Dead Rock...The Griswald Mine Boys...All On Amazon Books.

Thanks Rick, I did do a search but most of the threads I found didn't answer my questions specifically or they were pretty old and I didn't want to raise the dead with a new question.
    Last edited by alaskabushman; 08-28-2013 at 03:16 PM.

Me-"Exactly."