Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Writing A Survival Scenario

Default Writing A Survival Scenario

Hey.

I'm an amateur writer and I've hit a bit of a bump in a story I'm plotting out. Two characters (a 5'8" female aged 27, 110lbs and malnourished and a 5'10 male aged 29, 154lbs and in well enough health) have to backpack undetected for 212km (131.7m) through Norwegian and Swedish temperate forest (in late May and early June). They're moving at roughly 3km/h (1.8m/h), for 7-10 hours per day, and it should take them 9-12 days to reach their destination.

I've been doing research for what they should pack for the majority of the day, but I'm hoping I could get some suggestions and reviews from people who are knowledgeable in this area.

Their pack so far:
    A dozen safety-pins, a brown tarp, 10 tampons, two small solar-powered flashlights, two lightweight water bottles, a good knife, bandaging, saline solution, a rope, GPS, razors, needles and dental floss, duct tape, rice, noodles, dried banana chips, beef jerky, porridge, string cheese, cocoa powder, cream cheese, and lemonade powder.

There's plenty of lakes where they're walking so they'll have no trouble finding [still] water, but I haven't been able to find a way for them to filter it other than drinking through their clothes or a tampon (which wouldn't remove any diseases), and they have no means to boil it/fire would give away their position. Food is also a big one, but they can't be carrying anything too heavy. They have no idea how to hunt (including snares and fishing) or prepare kills, they don't know which wild plants they can eat, and the only items they have at their packing disposal are things you might find in your average house (with the exception of a few medical supplies, which are given to them by a friend).

Any ideas/feedback?

P.S: Any easy-to-build beds that would let them sleep incognito would be spectacular.