Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Alaska- How do you do it?

Default Alaska- How do you do it?

Okay, for those of you actually living in Alaska, how do you do it? Now this is mostly just for curiosity sake- I have no intention of running off to AK and building a lean to! Were you born and raised in Alaska? If so I can see why you'd stay. Are any of you transplants?

I guess I wonder what the primary occupations are. For instance, I'm a chef. Presumably there are restaurants in AK! Certainly in the larger towns. But it would probably be tough to earn a living by cooking. I imagine a mechanic can make a good living anywhere & everywhere. We all need to keep our cars and trucks running, and I suppose a guy who could work on sleds and gennies would do pretty well.

I imagine there must some money to be made off of tourism, at least in the summer.

Again, I am just wondering. Please feel free to chime in with any info or good stories about life in Alaska!

Alaska, The Madness! 1stimestar's Avatar
    Little cabin in the woods, middle of Alaska.

Just like any location, there are things you must learn to survive, or at least to live a bit more comfortably. Here it is a matter of life and death but so is learning the skills needed to live in a big city, a swamp, tornado alley, etc.

First off, one must have a head bolt heater to heat the block of your car. This means, you plug in your car. Most of us also have a battery blanket, transmission fluid heater etc. We have plugs in at out jobs and at our homes. There aren't any for customers in such places as restaurants or movie theaters. This means you either leave your car running, have auto start, or don't spend too long away from your car depending on the temp. At -25 or colder, I wont go to the movies.

Guests can not see images in the messages. Please register in the forum.

I just took this through my kitchen window for this post. So it's not quite -40, yet.