Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Looking for some advice on a rifle

Default Looking for some advice on a rifle

First, I'd like to start off saying i'm fairly new to firearms in general but have done a fair amount of research in and out of local hunting shops. Also i'm not here to start a discussion about which rifle is "the best". I am currently in the market for hunting rifle. I would mostly be using it for whitetail, possibly turkey, and in the unlikely event of an attack against a black bear. My main factors are widely available and affordable ammo, durability and reliability in the wilderness. Another factor but not as important is the price range looking for something in the mid price range, something of a beginner's to moderate hunter's rifle (sorry if that doesn't make sense). If you would please be so kind as to list the the rifle, caliber, and a short reason as to why you would recommend this particular rifle. Thank you for reading and any input.

What type of country would you be hunting in? What I'm getting at, is at what distance do you think you'll most likely be shooting at a deer?

As for a "general purpose" rifle ......... something like a Marlin 336. (Lever action 30-30) (Keep in mind, that this probably ISN'T what you'd want if most of your shooting will be longer distances. (300+ yards))
    Writer of wrongs.
    Honey, just cuz I talk slow doesn't mean I'm stupid. (Jake- Sweet Home Alabama)
    "Stop Global Whining"

Sorry forgot to mention he range. Yes, i'll probably be closer than 300 yards, but it definitely wouldn't hurt to have a higher range. It's mostly mountain, however there are spots that are open field areas where it wouldn't be out of the question that I could take a shot at the 300+ yard mark. Thanks for the help and the follow up question, I wasn't quite sure what info I needed to give for a good answer.