Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Share your best kept TROUT FISHING secrets!

Default Share your best kept TROUT FISHING secrets!

Being a rookie, I'd like your trout fishing secrets....

* Best time of day
    * Water depth
    * Best time of year
    * Your preferred LURE, how you retrieve it, etc..
    * Your preferred BAIT and how you fish it
    * Where to find them
    * How you cook them

And, anything else you care to share. I love trout, they are delicious and I'd really like to have one for dinner!

Thanks much for your time!
    Andrew

I have only done a little bit of trout fishing in small Colorado streams. I prefer to fly fish but my dad uses a spinning rod, the bait he uses is a little gold or silver spinning blade (not sure what it's called, it's like a spoon but not if that makes any sense) and it's all he uses. He prefers fishing down river where as I prefer fishing up river, the streams we fish in are fairly swift so where there are rocks sticking out of the water creating an eddy behind them there are usually trout sitting in the eddy waiting for food to float by them. With the fly rod I will cast up past the rock and let my fly float down through the eddy where as dad (fishing down stream) will cast his bait past the eddy and slowly retrieve the spinning blade into the eddy and let it spin there in the current. I'll try and find a picture of the bait dad uses but I got to get to class right now.
    "Freedom had been hunted round the globe; reason was considered as rebellion; and the slavery of fear had made men afraid to think. But such is the irresistible nature of truth, that all it asks, and all it wants, is the liberty of appearing."
    Thomas Paine

Minimalist Camping: Enjoy nature, don't be tortured by it. Take as little as you need to be safe and comfortable.

Does it look something like this?
    21oVU2ibVbL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

If so, Ive got one... A Little Cleo spoon lure. Getting ready to fish it...

Andrew