Thread: Buffalo meat for dehydrating?

Default Buffalo meat for dehydrating?

I am reading up on dehydrating. I may go look at dehydrators tomorrow. Can't spend a lot but it looks like Walmart has one for a little over $100.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Prago-10-T...rator/14321015
    Has anyone used this one?

If you think I can get a decent one for less please let me know. The only thing I learned for sure so far is that I need a timer, temp control up to 160 degrees and fan not on the bottom.
    Aaaaanyway, my original point...I read the meat dehydrating is not a good idea and then I read that its ok if you do it right. One point is to use lean meat. Soooo, has anyone dehydrated buffalo meat? I can be it nearby and it is very good, but to dry for grilling. How about for dehydrating?
    Last edited by sofasurfer; 08-04-2012 at 05:16 AM.

I've got no experience with that model, but it (along with the one I currently have) is lacking two features that I want on my next one. There is no thermostat or time on it. That being said, the only negative comments I read about it were the noise level from the fan.
    Can't Means Won't

My Youtube Channel

I think it does have a thermostat, adjustable from 84 to 155. But, it does not have a timer. That is simple to fix by putting an appropriately sized inline timer on it.

I am also looking to purchase a dehydrator, mine is on its last legs. I consider dedicated fruit leather trays to be an important feature. I use them for much more than fruit leather. Drying sauces, ground meat, eggs, etc are some of the few. Using parchment or Saran will work but it is clumsy, at least for me. Turned up edges on dedicated trays are just so convenient.

I have never dried Buffalo, but I see no reason why you can't. Jerky of course, but don't forget chili and soup/stew meat. Ground beef or venison mixed with bread crumbs, cooked, then dried, makes for many uses. The bread crumbs make it much easier to reconstitute.