Thread: Made my First Net

Default Made my First Net

Thanks to asemery/Tony I made my first piece of netting yesterday. Thank You Tony for being generous in passing along your knowledge and experience. This is something I have always wondered about and wanted to try and thanks to you I was able to do it.
    Granted it is in no way close to perfect but taking into account I have never done this before I am still pretty proud of it. Now, with a little experience and practice I can get better with my knots and spacing. I would love to have a hammock out in the yard that I made myself!
    If you are at all interested in trying to make a net give this a try. I started yesterday after supper with nothing more than a paint stick to make my needle and gauge and a spool of simple cotton twine and by last night I had my tools made and my first piece of netting made, pretty cool huh! It is really easy to do and once you get the needle and gauge made it goes pretty quick and is fun to do. Thanks again Tony.
    **And thank you Hunter for showing me how to get these pix up!
    Here are the instructions I followed.
    http://www.wilderness-survival.net/f...g-Part-1-and-2

Guests can not see images in the messages. Please register in the forum.

Guests can not see images in the messages. Please register in the forum.
    Last edited by wtrfwlr; 08-01-2012 at 04:52 PM. Reason: added link
    My goal in life is to be the kind of person my dog thinks I'am.

Well done. Had to send a little rep your way.
    Can't Means Won't

My Youtube Channel

Fine job there, Bud, you have more patience than I do.....I agree that the tutorials from asemery/Tony are excellent, very good addition to the group.

Years ago, DW got real heavy into macrame, and I was working in a factory that used all sizes of cotton cording for the insides of wire rope (core), meaning an unlimited supply of raw materials.