Thread: simple machines

Default simple machines

My boy (3rd grader) has to do a science fair project on simple machines. Seeing as I am an English teacher, I was hoping to get some input from y'all. I was thinking possibly something survival related. Any ideas?
    ‎"Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool."

How about a very simple tool. The lever.

Maybe a see-saw, with a movable pivot point, to play with lever ratios.
    Writer of wrongs.
    Honey, just cuz I talk slow doesn't mean I'm stupid. (Jake- Sweet Home Alabama)
    "Stop Global Whining"

The Keweenaw Peninsula of upper Michigan, about the middle of the south shore of Lake Superior

He could also demonstrate a screw with a screw jack or a pulley with a small deer hoist.

Knee jerk answer;

A wedge to split wood would be a simple one.

An elaborate one could be a well draw.
    "They call us civilized because we are easy to sneak up on."- Lone Waite

A noose?
    2D made me think of it.

This may be the break I was looking for. Rick's gone for a few, you tie up 2D, we make the project as Old Professor suggests, and I'll cook up the mule.
    "They call us civilized because we are easy to sneak up on."- Lone Waite

Ken would be so proud.
    Can't Means Won't

My Youtube Channel

This thread is getting ready to go waaaay off track.

But I'm not going to be the one to take it there.
    Nope...not going to do it. LOL
    Writer of wrongs.
    Honey, just cuz I talk slow doesn't mean I'm stupid. (Jake- Sweet Home Alabama)
    "Stop Global Whining"

I don't know if its too advanced for a "simple" machine but what about a pull-cart, then you have both a wheel and axel plus a fulcrum to move the loads. Perhaps something like this.

http://www.google.com/imgres?q=pull+...r:12,s:0,i:125

How about a fire piston?