Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi from the Pacific NW of the USA!

Default Hi from the Pacific NW of the USA!

Hi, I'm new to the forums!
    I'm in my 30s and a lady (so please pretend with me that I'll be celebrating my 25th birthday for the rest of my life). I live in the Pacific NW near a city now, but with plans to move out to my dream house/farm out in the remote woods. I'm a researcher/analyst by profession, and have more than a decade of military experience, most of it spent overseas doing work I loved with amazing patriots in crummy 3rd world conditions. I have more-advanced-than-typical first aid, firearms, and SERE trainings, in addition to other specialized skills that allow me to work from the middle of nowhere and predict weather impacts on comms capabilities and military air and surface conditions. I've worked in remote areas in jungle, mountain, caribbean (that was short but the weather was SUPER fun (sarcasm)), and a whole lot of desert environments on different continents. I wouldn't call any of this experience (SERE aside) 'wilderness' experience, more like 'extremely crummy but sheltered by tarps and plywood with cleanish water and food that was ok to eat if you took your special pills every day.' Our 'attacks' rarely came from wildlife, snakes and spiders and smallish nocturnal creatures aside. I'd consider myself a novice when it comes to living off the land and killing things you actually want to ingest. I worked with a LOT of guys who went through months long schools for that, and I trust them completely with those kinds of things. In the meanwhile I went through months long schools for my nerd job, which only incidently involves weird environments.