Thread: Camelbak Backpaks which one to choose

Default Camelbak Backpaks which one to choose

I am looking for information on "CamelPak Backpacks" I do not want to spend a fortune i just want something that will carry some gear and allow me to pack the water in a hydration bladder on my day hikes and outings. I have never purchased a backpack before so i am a novice any advice on types, models, brands and price is greatly appreciated. Thank You
    A Government big enough to give you everything you want is also big enough to take it all away when it wants.
    Thomas Jefferson

Neither your Liberty, your money, nor your property are safe while Congress is in Session.

naturalist primitive your_comforting_company's Avatar
    Blog Entries

If you don't want to spend a fortune, don't buy a camelbak. I could have bought two of the molle 3day assault packs (military surplus outlet) for the price of one camelbak (fancy retail store). I got a red-head bladder that fits perfectly, and all the attachment points on the outside for molle expansions leave lots of room inside for extra gear.

comparing the materials in-hand, the molle was much thicker and felt tougher than the camelbak. My mom bought one of the camels just for day hikes with me, taking pictures and identifying wildflowers. Only a few of her books would fit and almost NO equipment, other than compact items like compass and stuff.

All that being said, this is the first pack I've bought. I usually recycle the kids old school backpacks and just deal with it. Mom's camelback was $85 (plus cost of bladder) and my assault pack was <$40 (plus cost of attachments and bladder).

Hope that helps.
    Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing. Helen Keller

My Plants
    My skills
    Eye Candy
    Plant terminology reference!