Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello

Default Hello

Hi everyone,
    I'm James, from Long Island, NY, and I stumbled across this site when looking at making knives. The immense amount of knowledge about an almost equal amount of topics locked this in as a new favorite site. I'm not new to forums and forum etiquette and for the most part will be lurking around just reading for the most part since I don't have much knowledge to share. I was a Boy Scout and earned my Eagle badge, but my experiences in the outdoors is limited. I am more skilled than most people in this vast suburban landscape, but thats not a big accomplishment.

Just quick info about me:
    I'm 29, male, and I've been a carpenter most of my life. As far as my skill, preparedness, and experience, I'm definitely a novice, but I'm pretty smart and can figure most things out (as stated, knife making is what made me stumble upon this site, both out of scrap steel and flint knapping).
    I don't spend much time outdoors right now, but would like to get back to it, but with a better knowledge base.

Welcome to the camp.
    -Sam

Banned
    Blog Entries

A warm welcome from Alaska.

Welcome to the forum.

Welcome home, James.
    Tracks Across the High Plains...Death on the Bombay Line...A Touch of Death and Mayhem...Dead Rock...The Griswald Mine Boys...All On Amazon Books.

Blog Entries

Hello and welcome
    Recession; A period when you go without something your Grandparents never heard of.

'elo and welcome to the forum.

Hunter63, Saying, Hey, and Welcome.
    Geezer Squad....Charter Member #1
    Evoking the 50 year old rule...
    First 50 years...worried about the small stuff...second 50 years....Not so much
    Member Wahoo Killer knives club....#27

Glad to be here. I've got a lot to learn and this seems to be the best place to learn it. I definitely prefer to learn from those who have done it than from a book.