Thread: A Question about schools.

Blog Entries

Default A Question about schools.

Currently I'm a full time student in the South-Savo Vocational school. (secondary level education). I study Wooden boat building. We students learn more traditional than industrial way of making them.

Couple pics of a WIP boat.
    Guests can not see images in the messages. Please register in the forum.
    Guests can not see images in the messages. Please register in the forum.
    (I took the pics)

As part of my studies I have an chance to go abroad as an exchange student. And as the school(city/government/taxpayers/me) pays for the trip I thought why not go somewhere I would not otherwise go. In this case, the USA. Unfortunately my school doesn't have standing partner schools in the US so I'm doing a little bit of research on possible places I could have the school to contact regarding this matter.

I was figuring that since you guys generally know and appreciate quality craftsmanship you might know schools in the States where they teach this craft.

Ps. This might also give me a rare chance to meet up with some of you guys since I really don't have the $$$ to fly there for Jamborees and such...
    Survival is not about surviving AGAINST the nature. It's about surviving WITH the nature.

You can't go in to nature, nature is not a place or an object. Nature just is. You are living it.

Some of the East Coast folks might be able to help you. There are not too many conventional boat builders in the Midwest. Sorry.
    Tracks Across the High Plains...Death on the Bombay Line...A Touch of Death and Mayhem...Dead Rock...The Griswald Mine Boys...All On Amazon Books.

Blog Entries

How about fiberglass?
    Survival is not about surviving AGAINST the nature. It's about surviving WITH the nature.

You can't go in to nature, nature is not a place or an object. Nature just is. You are living it.

Last edited by BENESSE; 11-03-2010 at 07:12 PM.

Blog Entries

Great link Benesse, Thank you!