Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wild Carrot/ Daucus carota

Default Wild Carrot/ Daucus carota

Who here harvests and eats this plant's root?

At what stage of development do you harvest the root for food? i.e. basal rosette, stalk, flowering?

Can you tell wild carrot based on the root alone and nothing else?

How can you tell?

I find wild carrot growing intermingled with some other similar plant which I've thought was poison hemlock, but I now know it's not poison hemlock, but something else entirely.

I'm trying to determine how to tell what wild carrot is based on the root alone.

Thanks!

naturalist primitive your_comforting_company's Avatar
    Blog Entries

The hairs on the stalk, the stripes, the sheath at the node, and the dissected leaf shape including veination. There are several details that set it apart from other similar looking plants.
    I am not harvesting them yet, I'm still studying the growth habits.
    From what I understand, it takes two years for it to grow the flower stalk. First year will be a small plant, mostly erect. Second year is when you should harvest, but before it starts to flower, in early spring. Once it starts to flower, all the starches stored in the root, move up in a "growth spurt" to the flowers and seeds for reproduction.
    You should be able to tell by the early second year growth, AND the root. The way I'm doing it, I found a stand of them in a field this year, and next year I'll go back and watch the cotyledons grow, dig a few to see how the root progresses, and pick just before flowering, if I'm able to distinguish it.
    There are quite a few look-similars, like chervil, but the root is definately going to give it away.
    Just remember hemlock has no hairs on the stem!