Page 1 of 70 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: Knife/Survival Knife Info.

Default Knife/Survival Knife Info.

Hello Everyone,

I too have a survival kit problem. I have a master list that would probably fit into a small day pack. Lately though I have been developing a kit in a coffee can. I can describe it later if anyone is interested but on to my problem. It is what type of knife/tool should I put in the kit. I own a leatherman Wave that I carry all the time (even to church) and I have both wenger and victornx SAK(Both carry tidentical gear. Large lock blade, wood saw, philips and flathead drivers, awl). What are some of your opinions out there? Folding vs fixed? Multi tool (leatherman) vs Knife (SAK)?

just a good pocketknife would work. Serrated blade is better for survial in my opinion because it last longer before getting dull.

Bring something to sharpen your knife. Also a fixed knife is less likely to fall apart on you than a pocket knife. At the same time, a pocket knife has quite a few more functions than a simple survival knife does. Personally, I carry a pocket knife and a bic lighter all the time, and when I know I'm going out in the woods, I bring a 10'' survival knife I bought in an army surplus store, a sharpening stone, and a bic lighter.
    BSM

what a really good survival knife is its the aitor jungle king II. but it is hard to find so go to knifesearch.com and look unter sharpeners for the Sper-X- Survivor. which is the same thing but way cheaper and easyer to find.

Default Knife Purchase

Recently I purchased a knife from Maxam. I haven't gotten it yet, so I'm still waiting for it. Here's the knife:
    http://www.ckbproducts.com/product_i...oducts_id/1327
    Great website btw.

Anywho, I was just wondering what everyone's thoughts were. Good knife? Bad knife?

While we're on the subject, I also would like to know what you all look for in a good knife.

Cool Knives etc...