Thread: Micro Climates

Default Micro Climates

MICRO CLIMATE

Micro climate as been an interest of mine and have been developing my property giving it full consideration. I searched properties for several years checking them throughout seasons to find the best weather I could find locally. I get more sun and it can be raining for hundred miles in each direction. The only wind I get blows from the south. I built my house and instead of squaring it with property lines I oriented it to the sun. When I cleared land I left trees in a pattern to create various climates for growing and when I pushed up stumps with bull dozer I took the time to grade the property so sun would reflect off snow onto house kind of like a big solar reflector. My hot spots are easy to locate because the snow melts there first. I’m no scientist or really that good a gardener so I would be interested if any have thought or tried things along these lines. I pay attention to it in the woods too. The back sides of mountains seem to covered with devils club and the terrain seem steeper. My guess is more sun on southern increases temperature changes cracking rock making it more vulnerable to erosion. That’s just my theory and may be completely wrong I just enjoy pondering it a reaping the benefits when things play out right. I have seen where Indians had a passive form of agriculture that would improve the natural environment for growing native plants. Things like cutting a tree branch that was shading an area or diverting a stream and the like to improve growing environment. Any experience or thoughts?

Blog Entries