Thread: Sleeping bag reccomendation

Default Sleeping bag reccomendation

Sleeping bag recommendation.

I was hoping someone could recommend a sleeping bag for me. I would be using it for camping and also for my B.O.B.. I would like it light weight, compact and good to 20 degrees. Any thoughts?

Thanks

http://www.llbean.com/llb/shop/48808?from=SR&feat=sr

I like this one for my BOB. It is only 2 lbs and is warm (ish), I also keep a fleece bag liner in the pack if I need the extra warmth. I hate using it for camping though because I move to much for a mummy bag. When I camp, I will lug a rectangle bag (4 lbs) and sleep better because of it's shape. Just my 2 cents...I'm no expert!

I have a north face bag I bought used its good to 0 degrees, and I bought a Cabela's Mountain Trapper also a 0 degree bag , the north face is a great bag for cold weather and very comfortable even for a mummy bag.
    I havent used the cabelas bag yet.
    I Wonder Who was the first person to look at a cow and say, "I think I'll squeeze these dangly things here, and drink what ever comes out?"

To me, its no contest- WIGGY'S are the very best sleeping bags there are

You first need to figure out what you are going to use it for and what kind of conditions you expect to use it in. You said camping. Is that backpack camping or car camping or both. Do you expect to use it primarily in wet environments or dry? There's an awful lot of options to choose from so you need to fit the bag to your needs.

Also, when it comes to temperature ratings they don't mean squat unless they adhere to the new EN 13537 temperature rating system so look for a bag that conforms to EN 13537.

Here's a good starter - http://www.dummies.com/how-to/conten...r-camping.html

Tracks Across the High Plains...Death on the Bombay Line...A Touch of Death and Mayhem...Dead Rock...The Griswald Mine Boys...All On Amazon Books.

Here's what I'm talking about.

http://www.wilderness-survival.net/f...ad.php?t=10475