PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Alaska

Harold
10-29-2009, 01:05 AM
Hi All!

I am new to the forum. I somewhat introduced myself in a recent thread but thought I would make it more official since it was pointed out that I might should have done an introduction at this location.

I was born and raised in Kentucky, did my undergraduate work at Murray State University, Austin Peay University, and University of Tennessee. I received my doctorate from the University of Kentucky. As a health care professional I have worked and lived in 36 countries. I am a senior citizen and work full time as a health professional for the US ARMY (Ft. Richardson) in Anchorage, Alaska. I live in Chugiak, Alaska.

I am an active SCUBA diver and hold a Master Instructor rating with PADI (M1195). I am also an Amateur Radio operator (KD5DNA). I once enjoyed sport parachuting but I have grown much too old for that sport. I enjoy backpacking and camping and I am an avid hunter and fisherman.

I am a Large Format photographer and have been seriously into photography since 1965. In the last 10 years my work has shown in Germany, France, Italy, and Canada. I have a complete darkroom where I process Black & White as well as color film and images. Though reluctant, I have begun to embrace digital photography however conventional photographic arts will always be my first love.

I am also a Tool & Die Maker and I own a machine shop in which I am quite active. I build custom rifles and have patented several surgical devices which I designed and fabricated in my machine shop.

Years ago, when I rode to school on woolly mammoths, I had a Rock & Roll band (The Tikies) and we had several songs to spin on WLS in Chicago. That was a big deal back then. To help pay my way through college I played a B3 Hammond organ for dinner clubs (torch songs like Misty, Stardust, September Song, Stranger On The Shore, Tenderly, etc.). Today I still play the keyboard as well as guitar and banjo.