PDA

View Full Version : Frog Gigger

flop-n-jerk
08-30-2009, 01:06 PM
How many tines or prongs or points or whatever they are called is preferred. My local store has them with 3, 4, and 5. They are all under $5, which one would be better for general purpose useage? Like fish, snakes, or any other critter that got close enough.

Sourdough
08-30-2009, 01:20 PM
I would like to own one or two, does anyone know the best place to Mail Order them from. $5.00 sounds cheap.....but I have NO idea what they sell for.

Rick
08-30-2009, 03:15 PM
I used to gig all the time when I was younger. I haven't done it since I graduated high school...yes, I actually graduated. If I remember correctly, I had a 4 tine gig. I don't know that one would work any better than the other. We just used whatever we could get. Everyone seemed to be equally good (or bad) with whatever they were using. If guys went with us that didn't have a gig they just made a gig out of long sapling. That works pretty good, too and gives you a two barbed gig.

Hope, I Goggled some and here is a cheap one:

http://www.gofastandlight.com/prodinfo.asp?number=FI-H-4FROG&variation=

COWBOYSURVIVAL
08-30-2009, 03:19 PM
I have one for my bob, I just keep the spearpoint with no shaft, the bolt and a drill bit to allow me to attach it to a sappling.

Sourdough
08-30-2009, 03:20 PM
Hope, I Goggled some and here is a cheap one:

http://www.gofastandlight.com/prodinfo.asp?number=FI-H-4FROG&variation=

Looks like something "SafeZone, LLC" should carry......?

Rick
08-30-2009, 03:45 PM
I'd probably wind up hurting myself with it.

I only hunted for trophy frogs. Regular frogs were everywhere. It was the special ones we were after....

http://www.barryandstuart.com/wp-content/uploads/frog.jpg

Ole WV Coot
08-30-2009, 04:23 PM