PDA

View Full Version : Extreme cold and Firearms

Pal334
07-30-2009, 07:53 AM
I would like to pick the brains of some of our members that have and do deal with the extreme cold. For sake of discussion minus 20 degrees and colder. I have no experience discharging a firearm when it is that cold. I have been armed and outside for extended periods of time while in the military at wind chills of 20-30 degrees below, so am fairly familiar with cleaning and lubricant needs. To keep it simple so as not to get involved in lubricants, etc, lets assume the firearm is a plain jane bolt action with iron sights only.My question (s):

1) How does that type of cold effect / affect the metals of the weapon? Of special interest if you have to fire it.Should the rifle be kept wrapped or sheathed when no use is imminent?

2) the ammunition, is its performance noticably impacted by this type of cold? Also, should spares be kept "warm" (inside outer wear)?

3) If you are fortunate enough to have relatively warm shelter (cabin etc), should the rifle be kept inside, or kept at the ambient outdoor temperature?

I am certain that there are other issues that could be addressed, feel free to do so. Just want to "pick the brains" of those who "have been there and done that". Could help me and others avoid some serious mistakes.

glockcop
07-30-2009, 09:56 AM