PDA

View Full Version : Pistols and background checks

bulrush
07-08-2009, 03:08 PM
In Michigan there is a waiting period to buy a pistol, during which time a background check is run on you. Correct me if I'm wrong. What exactly do they check? Driving records? Prison records? To see if you are a felon? Medical records? Pharmacy (prescription) records?

Anyone know?

Rick
07-08-2009, 03:10 PM
I don't know about Michigan. I would suspect felony arrests and mental declarations.

bulrush
07-08-2009, 03:14 PM
What's a mental declaration? Do you mean a court action? Or if someone gets anti-psychotics from the pharmacy/doctor? I'm just curious.

So if my grandmother was declared unable to care for herself by a court, she could not buy a pistol? Could she buy a rifle?

EDIT: Also, where should I get a rifle or pistol? From a big chain? Would they have better prices and selection? Or from a private local company? How about a pawn shop? I'm a beginner gun buyer so I would not know which problems to look for at a pawn shop.

Rick
07-08-2009, 03:23 PM
Based on what I can find on Google, it looks like a criminal check. Here is a good article on most of the laws for Michigan. Don't know about ammo purchase.

http://crime.about.com/od/gunlawsbystate/a/gunlaws_mi.htm

Mountain Man
07-08-2009, 05:15 PM
The pistol purchasing process is at a the federal level in regards to background check, all states do it. Except maybe those handful that recently challenged the fed for manufacturing and selling within their own state.

Anyway, you can look it up on google to find out exactly what they look into...

SARKY
07-08-2009, 07:43 PM