PDA

View Full Version : What is SURVIVAL, Not a dumb question!

gryffynklm
05-18-2009, 10:09 AM
Sarge got me to thinking about why the forum gets the question "What do I need to live in the woods and survive?" The fact the question is so broad, leads me to believe an understanding of what survival is may be lacking.

I actually tried to Google "Survival" and got so much and didn't find an actual deffiniton that i liked. We all have an understanding of the word.

Here is my challenge:

How do you define the word Survival? As a relative newbie I'll start with my definition. I'll also provide my definition for survival preparedness.

Survival:

The ability to sustain health safety and life in an uncontrolled and life threatening situation for an unknown amount of time, until the threat no longer exists, using only your knowledge and ordinary items you may have available.

Survival Preparedness:

Actions taken to improve your ability to maintain health, safety and life in a life threatening situation. These actions may include but are not limited to increasing your knowledge through training and research as well as acquiring equipment to aid in your chances for survival and rescue.

They're not perfect but its a start.

aflineman
05-18-2009, 11:00 AM
I would say that my definition of survival is getting out of an unexpected situation alive, healthy, and sane. Some other peoples’ definition of survival would seem to be a definition of life, at least to me. I don’t really see going out into the woods (on purpose) with minimal equipment as survival. This is a PLANNED event. You set out to do it, and did it. True survival (at least to me) is when things turn south unexpectedly, then you just soldier on and triumph.
This is how I look at it. I know many people will see it differently.

Jay
05-18-2009, 01:21 PM
being alive to see tomorrow's sunrise!
(just one day at a time!) That's all some people have.

Rick
05-18-2009, 02:30 PM