PDA

View Full Version : Winter Survival Kit

RBB
01-04-2009, 03:44 AM
Every winter I put together a winter travel kit. By spring it is so much trash and I shovel it out of the car. I'm a bit late this year, but after the 40 mile trek to work tonight, 34 of it on back roads with the snow hitting the floor boards all the way, I can see it is time. I've been driving this route for 20 years and have only needed to use any of these items about three or four times, but was sure glad I had them those few times.

There are houses along part of the route, but certain sections would require a long walk. Given the whiteout conditions tonight - you might be best off staying with the vehicle.

What I usually carry:

Snow shoes
Winter mocs
Two pairs wool socks
Wool trousers
Wool blanket shirt
Canvas anorek
Wool tuque
Military extreme cold weather mitts
Wool blankets
Down sleeping bag
Sheath knife
Tinder box (w/flint & steel)
Matches (in waterproof container)
Sterno (w/ little stove)
10 candy and energy bars
Chewing gum
Chewing tobacco
Couple of paperbacks
Bread rolls
Tunafish (in dry pack)
Hamburger (in dry pack)
Quart canteen of water (needs to be taken in every trip)

Any suggestions?

crashdive123
01-04-2009, 08:32 AM
Looks like you've got the essentials covered. More importantly, you've used it, so you know it works for you.

Sourdough
01-04-2009, 08:38 AM
I am guessing you have other stuff that lives in the rig. But for the enlightenment of others I would have two shovels (they do break), set of "V" Bar ice chains, nylon tow strap, two 50# bags of sand, and maybe a come-a-long.

tsitenha
01-04-2009, 11:18 AM
I have similar items, along with an ax, a swede saw, candle/lantern (to read the paperbacks with). Extra water....
A tea pot to melt extra water (needed if you eat anything at all) and make tea/coffee, small pot to warm food in (a warm meal in your belly is nice)
A CB/FRS/GMRS/radio or cell phone radio whatever works best in your coverage area.

primeelite