PDA

View Full Version : USGI MSS review is in

MCBushbaby
01-03-2009, 10:06 AM
Review of the Modular Sleeping System (http://bushmastery.blogspot.com/2009/01/review-of-usgi-mss-8465-01-445-6274.html)

Overall good insulation, construction and feel; hate the hood cinch, zippers are a bit of a bother at first, a bit heavy and large pack size.

Stairman
01-03-2009, 10:46 AM
Ive looked at these but dont need a bag for temps that cold.I know the hood is important to have in place,drawn snug and a beenie worn over the head with warm socks helps.I dont believe the temp ratings on any bag.Ball park figures yes but I have a 30 degree bag that will no way keep you warm at even 40 degree.Found that out the hard way.Stuff sacks work great though for compressing things down.I figure here in the south a zero rating is adequete.You can always open them up a little and while I dont want to sweat sleeping I dont want to be cold either.I remember in Boy Scouts I was bought a youth bag and on one trip to the Okeefeokee I froze to death and didnt sleep a wink.

Badawg
01-03-2009, 04:23 PM
Nice review. Think I will stick with my Blue Kazoo... It's 16 years old but with a liner it's plenty warm for my neighborhood.

RunsWithDeer
01-03-2009, 04:44 PM
Nice thorough review, let us know if you can improve the cinch.

dougz
01-03-2009, 04:55 PM
Thanks for the follow-up!

jbphotoinc
01-20-2009, 12:33 AM
Hi, i was wondering how far you have been able to compress your system down to and also if you have had a chance to test it in any other conditions. I just picked up a mss system off ebay and waiting for it to come in. I think that i may have picked up the "newer" system (nsn w9124q-05-d-0826) then the one you have. The only differences i have been able to conclude through various descriptions is an ACU pattern Bivy, Grey and green bags, and a smaller compression size. Any info on your system is very helpful.

thanks james

MCBushbaby
01-20-2009, 01:48 AM