PDA

View Full Version : SPEEDHOOKâ„¢ Emergency Fishing & Snare Trapping Kit

mbarnatl
09-05-2007, 06:01 PM
I was looking into purchasing the SPEEDHOOK™ Emergency Fishing & Snare Trapping Kit. Has anyone tried or used this product? I have read several reviews but I am still wanting to talk with someone that has used it. Here (http://www.actiongear.com/cgi-bin/tame.exe/agcatalog/level4s.tam?xax=25807&M5COPY%2Ectx=20427&M5%2Ectx=20427&M2%5FDESC%2Ectx=Emergency%20Preparedness%2C%20Surv ival%20%26%20Lifesaving%20Supplies&level3%2Ectx=results%2Etam&query%2Ectx=fishing%20kit&backto=%2Fagcatalog%2Fresults%2Etam) is the link for those that are interested in it also.

survivalhike
09-05-2007, 06:44 PM
I have never used that particular item before but if it lives up to the promise that the website makes then I think they should be in everyones survival kits as an easy way to almost surely catch a meal.

Fog_Harbor
09-05-2007, 10:24 PM
I have seen a demonstration by a person I trust, but have never actually used it myself. From what I saw (he wasn't trying to sell me the thing), it was effective. Downside is that, as with all bait, the fish has to get it in his mouth for it to be effective.

In a survival situation, the trap is much more effective in many, but not all, situations.

In WAY out of the way places, you could float two hairs on a hook and get a bite, because it's all new to the fish.

Trick to fishing is - don't give them what they're used to, give them what's a delicasy to them in their region.

uearn
09-06-2007, 12:00 PM
Thanks I sure could use some of those:)

mbarnatl
09-06-2007, 07:39 PM
@Fog Harbor: did he show you how it was used as a snare? It states it can be used for both fishing and snare.

Fog_Harbor
09-09-2007, 04:19 PM
@Fog Harbor: did he show you how it was used as a snare? It states it can be used for both fishing and snare.