PDA

View Full Version : what is a friend?

wareagle69
10-26-2008, 08:01 PM
ok guys teach me about friends, i am not good with people when i sit in the lunch trailer i realize i have nothing in common with these guys they talk motors and boats and cars and quads and hunting and fishing, even when i try to relate they look at me funny i am an extreme American in a northern Canadian city i have been in combat plus my other chosen extreme sports that you know takes a different personality.
when i moved here 7 years ago i was a different man than i am today i was just coming off my pro career and was into partying made a good friend but about 18 months into the friendship he moved 6 hours away, we get together a bout once a year and he was just here this weekend to see the homestead but i have realized we have nothing in common anymore so i am at a crossroads do i drop the friendship ? like i said i am a social misfit i fit with others of my kind folks that can relate to me i can talk to coot about some things trax others and nell about all things, but you guys are in the virtual world not here in mine. sad maybe but i have my wife and my horses and little brown dog(and skinny white dog) but brown dog i have had a relationship with longer than anyone so anyhow what is a friend to you?

Rick
10-26-2008, 08:12 PM
Listen. I don't sweat that stuff. Folks drift in and out of our lives all the time. Some good some not so good but I figure I can learn something from all of them. If they like me, fine. If they don't like me then that's something they have to come to terms with, not me. I pay more attention to the ones that don't particularly like me because they are the first to tell me when I mess up. My friends will let me walk around all day with broccoli in my teeth 'cause they don't want to hurt my feelings.:D Go figure.

rebel
10-26-2008, 08:44 PM
For me, when I make a friend it's for life. That's good and bad. However, I do have limits.