PDA

View Full Version : Potassium permanganate and its uses in survival situations.

ADEPT
10-13-2008, 11:09 PM
Hello all,
My first post here.

My question is this:

I've been reading on the uses of Potassium permanganate and I was wondering what ya'll thought of its effectiveness for uses like first aid, fire starting, water purifying and any others I may not be aware of. Anyone used it in the field and what did you think of the results?

I've got to say I'm a little worried about drinking a caustic oxidizing agent. haha

And also, I know that I can use other items more effectively but it seems to have so many uses, I thought it might be a good back up.

Thanks

canid
10-13-2008, 11:24 PM
welcome. first i would suggest you head over to the introductions forum down towards the bottom of the forums display page (http://www.wilderness-survival.net/forums).

the use of potasium permanganate has come up here before, but personally i've never used it before unless it's been in any of the water purification tablets i've used or in a topical ointment, and in either case it would have been in small volume. i am actually inclined to ask if anybody here has ever seen it in a first aid kit.

Sarge47
10-13-2008, 11:25 PM
Intro 1st; answers 2nd; deal?:cool:

ADEPT
10-14-2008, 10:11 AM
ah, I've corrected the mistake. sorry bout that!

Rick
10-14-2008, 12:43 PM
I gave permanganate (Condy's Crystals) a serious look a couple of years ago. My thinking was sort of in line with yours. Anti-biotic, water treatment, fire starter. Mult-use! It didn't take very long however to figure out the drawbacks out weighed the advantages.

Fire starter - It works very well because it's an oxidizer. So it has to be kept safely tucked away from oxidizable (is that a word?) substances. Nothing like having your back pack erupt into flames while hiking.