PDA

View Full Version : I need some help here

DEET
08-30-2007, 02:34 AM
My six year old son ask the all powerful all knowing gran pooba of knowledge a question today that i don't know the answer to. Why do the female preying mantisses sometimes eat the males after mating? I need the right answer so I can return to my demigod status as dad.:rolleyes:

wareagle69
08-30-2007, 06:26 AM
because men are pathetic when it comes to our women's needs when they whistle we come a running

or

because she can..

Sarge47
08-30-2007, 07:19 AM
My six year old son ask the all powerful all knowing gran pooba of knowledge a question today that i don't know the answer to. Why do the female preying mantisses sometimes eat the males after mating? I need the right answer so I can return to my demigod status as dad.:rolleyes:

"Cause they're hungry.:rolleyes:

robneville73
08-30-2007, 08:28 AM
While I'm not familiar with the specifics of Parying Mantii(sp?) my degree is actually as a Biologist...so reasoning my way through it, here are some likely explanations:

* Helps ensure proper nutrition somehow?
* Most animals go through some sort of selection process to find suitable mates - to try and find the best set of genes to combine with their's. This could be a strategy to ensure that her chosen mate only passes on his genes to her progeny
* The first answer given above sounds reasonable to me as well

My smart-alec-y response would be: because no matter the species, the women are in control of this process ;)

smokelessfire
08-30-2007, 10:51 AM
don't quit your day jobs. she simply takes advantage of the male's complete exhaustion after the act, eating him for the large amount of food she now needs for the offspring in her body.

trax
08-30-2007, 02:01 PM