PDA

View Full Version : What is best for setting snares?

Weaponbb7
07-11-2008, 02:58 PM
I am an amateur in wilderness survival, i have done many backpacking trips and had a great teacher who got me into primitive technology. now i have read extensively about snares. but not one guide says specifically what cordage, wire, or whatever is good for making snares. I am shooting for sizes from tree squirrel to beaver and almost anything in between. thank you in advance.

WeaponBB7

Beo
07-11-2008, 03:02 PM
Wire works great, that's what i use.
http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s6/soulangel200/noobkitty.jpg
Seriously though I did a post on trapping and snares a while back, do a search and it'll pop up.
Beo,

trax
07-11-2008, 03:04 PM
You might want to just run a search on some of the threads here. Plenty's been written on it, already and folks get a little antsy about repeating themselves, repeating themselves.

Snaring squirrels and beavers are two different sets of circumstances entirely and you're probably better off using traps for beaver, but if you go to a local or area outfitter, if there's one available, they should have a full range of snare wire products available and be able to set you up. One of the cheapest ways to eat in the wild is to buy yourself one of those little rolls of thin brass wire they have for snares and you can snare squirrels, rabbits, ptarmigan, grouse, woodchucks, .....I've been using that stuff since I was 9-10 years old and I don't go out into the bush without a roll. You can fit a whole roll in your shirt pocket.

Beo
07-11-2008, 03:05 PM
Snares are anchored cable nooses set to catch wild animals such as foxes, rabbits and coyotes. They are also widely used by subsistence and commercial hunters for bushmeat consumption and trade in African forest regions.