PDA

View Full Version : Anyone care to brief me on water purifiers?

Arkansas_Ranger
07-07-2008, 02:18 AM
I did a search earlier regarding water purifiers. Still, what's best? Tablets, drops, pumps, the "straw?"

Any ideas, suggestions, etc would be most helpful.

Teotwawki
07-07-2008, 06:23 AM
I am far from an expert on this... but here is my take and approach...

Whenever possible I boil water (10+minutes) - I think that is the surest way to get rid of any harmful micro-organisms.

I carry a Katadyn / PUR Hiker micro-filter but rarely use it.

Here is a blurb about the microorganisms found in outdoor water:

-------------
Most outdoor water sources contain microorganisms that can make you sick. Ingesting just one microorganism may cause illness. Wilderness medicine experts advise always treating water to protect against waterborne microorganisms.

Beware of these three types of microorganisms:

Viruses = .018 micron +

Most wilderness medicine professionals now recommend treating water for viruses as well as bacteria and protozoa. Viruses must be eliminated through a purification system or boiling because they are small enough to pass through a filter. Viruses are the least common microorganism in outdoor water, however they can also be quite dangerous. They are typically too small to be removed by a water micro filter. Ex: Hepatitis A, Polio, Nor walk Virus.

Bacteria = .2 microns +

Bacteria is becoming a significant threat in untreated water. Micro filters remove most bacteria, but smaller bacteria require a very small micron size micro filter or a purifier. Bacteria is common threat in untreated water. Most quality water micro filters remove bacteria from outdoor water. Ex: Cholera, Campylobacter, E coli and Salmonella.

Protozoa = 1 micron +