PDA

View Full Version : My Figure 4 Deadfall trap prototype

KT_Cobra
06-08-2008, 06:06 PM
Okay, so I've never actually made this trap. I wanted to give it a try because it looked like a lot of fun. This is just a practice run with really thin and oblong sticks to see if I could make it happen. It worked. :)

My choice of sticks were somewhat small because I did this at my in-laws' place while I was there for the weekend. They had just cleaned up the lawn/yard. I didn't feel like making the trek to the woods because I was currently on call for the hospital I work at.

The horizontal stick was the hardest to make for some reason. I kept having balancing and notch issues (again, it's my first try). These aren't the best pics but it shows what needs to be seen. It took me about an hour or so to make it while taking my time.

Let me know what you think. Again, it's just more of an extremely downsized prototype, really.
http://www.knights-templar.us/board/download/file.php?id=286
http://www.knights-templar.us/board/download/file.php?id=287
http://www.knights-templar.us/board/download/file.php?id=288

KT_Cobra
06-08-2008, 06:07 PM
Oh, and the chunks chopped out of the wood was no-doubtedly my little brother-in-law's doing.

Sourdough
06-08-2008, 06:22 PM
It needs two slices of semi-crisp bacon, or a Twinkie on the trigger.....:)

Ken
06-08-2008, 06:26 PM
It needs two slices of semi-crisp bacon, or a Twinkie on the trigger.....:)

Hopeak, you're not deceased anymore? :confused:

crashdive123
06-08-2008, 06:55 PM
KT - I'm no expert with figure 4 deadfalls, but IMO it appears that the log has a bit to far to travel (fall) which could allow the intended prey to escape once the trigger has been fired.

Rick
06-08-2008, 07:03 PM