PDA

View Full Version : Animal Protection and U + Saftey Risks (Advice Needed)

Marlin_Man
06-04-2018, 01:20 AM
I am new to Wilderness Survival Forums. I plan on making a more formal Introduction soon. On the Introductions forum. At the moment I have a really novice question hopeful not asked too much. The question involves a background and situation.

Background
Age 24
Experienced in: hunting, fishing, and knows some edible mushrooms.
Lacks knowledge in: Navigation, shelter building, and protecting self from animals.

Situation:
- Location Canada Manitoba
- 1 hour drive to destination
- Unreliable car
- No cell phone
- Going alone
- waiting for Pal (No gun)
- Camp site 5 min walk from highway.
- Have food + cooler with ice
- pop up tent
- sleeping bag
- Emergency car kit with Emergency blanket
- Spare tire
- Pre-charged battery booster
- Rod
- tackle (with knife)
- Regular lighter
- shore fishing beside Highway

So my Main Concern is the common Black Bear. I saw bear and moose tracks near where I plan to camp. Any advice? Also as title states I would like to know any other risks I maybe taking. And ways I could make this trip Safer. Note: taking another person with me is not an option. I will tell my grandmother where I'm going and when ill be back. I would like to leave on this trip June 4 2018 at about 1:00 pm and return before 11:00 pm June 5.

Antonyraison
06-04-2018, 02:10 AM
I don't know bears... I live in southern Africa.
So I know hippos, elephants, lions and other such animals.
But from What I can understand you can bring some bear spray with..
also making a bunch of noise in bear Areas from what I understand helps drive them away from that area.

Marlin_Man
06-04-2018, 02:16 AM
I don't know bears... I live in southern Africa.
So I know hippos, elephants, lions and other such animals.
But from What I can understand you can bring some bear spray with..
also making a bunch of noise in bear Areas from what I understand helps drive them away from that area.