PDA

View Full Version : What should be in a survival fishing kit

Adam
08-24-2017, 09:27 AM
Fishing was to be my project for next summer, but I do not have to say I'm pushing this timeline a bit ....
However, I am a complete beginner when it comes to fishing, although I am not afraid to dig and learn to fish and use equipment. I know that "sets" in general tend to be poorly thought out, poor quality and are often filled with useless stuffing look better, but do not know where to start or what I need. I suppose some might be better than others, so do not worry about buying a set if it's cool, but it's a bit overwhelming when you look at Cabelas or Amazon. None of my family or friends care about fishing, so I do not have anyone to help me get started.

---------------------------------------------
My blog
https://lifeundersky.com/safety-precaution-when-hunting-from-a-boat/

crashdive123
08-24-2017, 02:58 PM
I view fishing more of a fun, relaxing activity or to put food on the table. Never really thought about it as a project.

madmax
08-24-2017, 03:11 PM
Gear up for where you are going to be practicing fishing. Big hooks in a small pond will frustrate you.
Don't get sucked into 5 dollar lures (just yet). I'd start where most middle aged and older people started. A cane pole, some line, hooks, sinkers, and worms. That'll give you some success and you can branch out from there.
A super fantastic fishing kit is worthless if you have no experience fishing.
Get out there and have fun.

kyratshooter
08-24-2017, 04:49 PM
I never viewed fishing as a "project" either. As a kid it was what you did for fun with grandpa. Latter it just became sport with food to take home.

Yea, you can walk through Walmart with $25 and walk out with enough fishing gear to be successful.