PDA

View Full Version : Mountaintrekker and the invention of the "crap strap" Pat Pending:)

Mountaintrekker
04-27-2008, 06:50 PM
Hello all,
I'm fairly new to this sight and I think this is a wealth of information, cudos to all those who participate and run this wonderful place! :D
I have not however heard too much regarding some basic bodily functions that we all deal with. I would like to recount a story that happened to me a couple of years ago hiking in the Colorado mountains if I may...
Here goes... I was alone and hiking to Conundrum Hot Springs outside of Aspen. This is a brisk 9 mile hike with a 4000 or so foot elevation gain along the way. The nice part is, you have some wonderful hot springs to soak in when you get there. I have never done this hike before and was really excited about it. I parked at the trail head a bit on the late side and figured it will be an easy trail to follow if it gets dark (I do have a headlamp after all and I'm no slouch in the woods).
After several hours it starts getting dark and I pass a few young 20 something girls coming down the trail and they tell me I should have the place all to myself as they were the last ones out. Fantastic I say to myself, then I think that having these 20 something cuties up by a hot spring as soaking buddies would have been pretty fantastic too! But I digress... (sigh)
So I get there in the dark and the springs don't seem to be close as I cannot see them or hear them and I'm bushed. I set up my tent and eat and notice that the temp is hovering in the teens. I figure I'll wake up at first light and take a dip when I can see and not risk falling in a hole or off a cliff.
I get in my sleeping bag and drift off for a bit. I wake up suddenly... what was that! A bear? Some other hiker? No... my stomach and a flatulent that would have killed Ron Hood. No bother I say, I'll deal with it later.