PDA

View Full Version : What Can We Eat, Honey?

Rick
04-12-2008, 09:51 AM
I do sorta okay on wild edibles around here. I can harvest a little variety for a salad or cooked greens or a nice tea. I'm no expert by any stretch but I can get by. That's here in the Midwest. I was really out of my element this week and at one point I told my wife, look out across the mountains and desert. What can we eat in all of that? The truth is, I had no idea. Some prickly pear cactus but not much more. An extended stay would have made for a great diet because I would not have been eating. And I can tell you that AZ is one state that does NOT believe in guardrails on the road so a trip over a ledge could be a reality or an injury out hiking or any number of things that could go wrong.

The point is, it was an eye opener for me because I suddenly realized how vulnerable we would be if something bad did happen. I did have a pocket knife, a small PSK and two quart bottles of water but no knowledge of the plants. Sooooo....I've now challenged myself to learn about desert and mountain edibles. At least a few that could keep me going. I would suggest you do the same if you don't already know about some other part of the country. If you are from Canada, take a look at what Florida or Arizona have in the way of plants and vice versa. It could save your life.

Alpine_Sapper
04-12-2008, 09:54 AM
:eek: Are you seriously suggesting that we step outside of our comfort zones? :eek:

That would be like...like...learning how to survive in the wilderness... or something. :D

Seriously, great suggestion.

Alpine_Sapper
04-12-2008, 10:16 AM
Are you just learning about the edibles, or are you trying to aquire them where you're at now to experiment as well? Not so much in a "honey look what I picked on our trip" type of aquire, but as in, getting them and trying to grow them in some type of natural environment to be able to see them in all stages?